Student Government Forms for 2015-2016 Year

The winners of all student government positions ranging from Sophomore Class Council to the Student Body level were announced today, May 18th. Voting was in the first week of May.

Senior Seth Hochman will be the next Student Body President

Rising Senior Seth Hochman will be the next Student Body President

Rising seniors Seth Hochman and Dionna Green and rising junior Max Winter all ran unopposed for the 2015-2016 student body elections for the positions of Student Body President, Student Body Vice President, and Student Body Treasurer respectively. The positions of secretary and historian were vacant. Seth Hochman ran for President and, “plans to improve the school by increasing student interaction in pep rallies, increasing student involvement in decisions by administration, and adding a Sadie Hawkins dance.”

“I wanted to run for student government because I thought I could improve the school and I’ve always wanted to be student body president. When I was a freshman and applied to be a representative I said in my application I wanted to be student body president one day. I really want to increase student involvement in administration decisions. For example, I would like if the administration came up with a new idea that involves students, they would consult Student Government about it. I would also like to have a Sadie Hawkins dance,” said Hochman.

Rising senior Dionna Green will serve as North Springs' Student Body Vice President

Rising senior Dionna Green will serve as North Springs’ Student Body Vice President

Green ran for Vice President and plans to improve the school by “…making new traditions for NS and set the status quo for the upcoming classes. I really wanted to increase student involvement at North Springs and I looked at other high schools and saw how united they were and wanted to bring that to North Springs,” said Green.

The sophomore class council is responsible for planning Senior Olympics and fundraisers throughout the school year to raise money for prom and graduation, events that happen in junior and senior years. Rising sophomores candidates included Manshi Baskaran for Secretary, Sofi Taher for Vice President, Eric Abel for Treasurer, and Jacob Lewis and Alisa Wilson for President. Jacob Lewis won the election, beating Alisa Wilson for Sophomore President.

Junior class council is in charge of prom planning, fundraising and help with other general events throughout the year. They fundraise to pay for senior graduation. Rising junior candidates included Nina Dagher for Vice President, Tema Magsam for treasurer, and Ashlee Tousana versus Rachel Stowell for President. Rachel Stowell defeated her opponent and won the election for Junior President. 

Rising seniors candidates included Margaret Turner for President, Alexa Rakusin versus Sahmirah Muhammad for Vice President, and Selena Todd for Historian. No students ran for treasurer and secretary. Sahmirah won the election for Senior Vice President. 

Tamra Jenkins is the teacher sponsor for Student Government. She said in an interview, “About 25 or 30 students ran for student government.” When asked about why she’s a sponsor for student government and she said, “When I was in highschool I loathed anything with student government or school spirit, so I felt like as an adult I wanted to be apart of that organization so I can help students reach out to kids who were like me and make them more involved.”

Candidates who lost the election will be offered positions in vacant spots.